Cosmic Girls with the brighter but less exciting I Wish

Only a couple of days ago did I proclaim Cosmic Girls’ Secret as my favorite song of 2016. I sang the praises of how good that song was, and even better a spectacular video to accompany it. I criticized the lackluster aspects of their debut in comparison, to just solidify the dreamy pop perfection that their September comeback (and debut proper of Yeonjung).

So I knew…I just knew…that somehow, Cosmic Girls would somehow fuck up the fun.
And they did.

I Wish, which I am tempted to call Tell Me Why, takes all the spacey dream like qualities of Secret, and just says fuck it. Throws all the good in the trash, and ups the tempo slightly. Now this isn’t to say that the song is terrible or is nothing but trash. I Wish would literally have to be Catch Me for that to happen. The song is interesting, and thankfully still has this sound to it that isn’t stuffy. I also hear what I imagine to be Juicy Fruit but I doubt K Pop even know what that song is. The chorus is actually nice, and sweet to listen to. But overall it comes off a little plain. Exy is required to rap each track, and this is the first time she felt like she was just inserted in and not given the spotlight like she normally would.

The music video suffers the same fate as the song. It’s obvious that Starship made sure to involve the same director as last time, as many of the visuals and same motifs still exist. The girls are still in these supernatural, vibrant colored landscapes, and having them in such open looking spaces gives the video such a more epic feel. And like last time there is a lot going on. The girls are set up in different groups of different scenarios. However unlike last time, where everything eventually came together (the summoning on Yeonjung), I Wish can’t quite find its purpose. Ultimately there is a lot of interesting imagery, but left to be chaotic.

I can’t say that I am too happy with I Wish. The song is nice, and kind of catchy. But the sugary quality feels very on the nose for me.

Leave a Reply

