Twice is off to a decent start with Ooh Ahh

So the build up for TWICE has been on going and the hype is real. So the time has finally come for the group to debut with their debut single Ooh Ahh.

When the instrumental teaser came out, it was unfortunately a stark difference between what was already given in the Music video teasers. This left me with some trepidation. The transitions in the song did not really…well there was a lot going on. The song is very reminiscent of the year 2013 where transitions and changes in the beat was all the rave. While there are elements in all of them, the song does come off like a clusterfuck to give the girls something to work with, while the chorus was essentially the only part that wasn’t altered.

That being said, I liked it. What really saves this song is TWICE themselves. While I liked the song, I could see myself growing tired of this in a week or two. TWICE is essentially why I haven’t fully said something completely negative. The song isn’t bad, but it is muddled and while trying to give everyone their shot, it ultimately remains with little to no rhyme or reason (essentially it’s comparable to a Red Velvet release, only SM knew not to go beyond five members). The only cohesive part is the chorus, which is cute.

The video plays off the of what everone wanted to see…TWICE. They have two different outfits (all school themed), each giving them a character to work with (while also beginning branding their personalities). Really the only one that didn’t get much love was Jungyeon, who was regulated to a section in the chorus, but inbetween the stronger and more screen blessed Nayeon and Jihyo. I am also suprised at how little Tzuyu was shown. Once again, nine girls is not a small number and it can be a little taxing to have to juggle them all. But I would have thought focus would be put on the most popular girls. Instead it was rather even with MoMo getting a slight edge because of her dance break.

The MVP’s of this video has to be Jihyo, Sana and MoMo. While the entire group did their thing, these were essentially my favorite girls.

Overall Jihyo was way more present than I thought she would be (a bigger group, was not as popular as other members, and JYP tends to regulate main vocalist to the chorus), but she was in that song a lot. 10 years of training might turn into 10 years of favoritism.  Which I am not complaining about because she was one of my favorites.

JihyoOA

MoMo has never been my favorite (she as a dancer has never really…appealed to me and the dances she did choose to do were okay at best), but her dance portion was a highlight of the song and video. I do wish they handled her blonde hair better. Some bundles and a darker shade of blonde (like a honey colored) would help. Still she came off grown and powerful throughout the video, and I might end up changing my opinion on her after this promo round.

MoMoOA

Sana is one of the weakest members from a musical standpoint, but pretty much excels as a personality. In fact she was the true fun of this video. While a lot of the girls played up being tough and smirking. Sana was the class clown, bubbly cheerleader combo. Her defining moment is the contrast she plays to both MoMo and Mina (both skilled dancers who are more mature in image), where she tries to be flexible and fails. It works and gives the video some much needed humor.

 

 

SanaOA

Overall the video was fun, but felt drier than I anticipated. It essentially was the girls dancing around a broken down school in the middle of a zombie apocolypse. That sounds great in theory, but once you take into account that there is nine of them (I cannot stress this enough), with the need to showcase all of them, and their parts musically in the frame of a four to five minute song…eh…Yeah the video is standard, but it is cute enough.

And Sana makes it better.

Sana1 Sana2

Anyway this was a decent enough start. Songwise, I don’t know. I like it enough, but do I like it because of TWICE, or because the actual song? I actually think it isn’t bad, but is a bit cluttered and musically loses direction. The most interesting part was the beginning with the flute. I do think TWICE handled the song really well, and the distribution was much better than I had expected. The video was pretty standard, but…I like TWICE so I let it pass. Bias is showing…and I am okay with that.

I’m placing bets on an early return (February at the latest), so in the meantime let’s enjoy the group’s debut.

Sources: jypentertainment Youtube, gifs are mine

Leave a Reply

