QuickReviews: Three albums in three paragraphs

I am being very flaky on the post, especially the reviews. And with how backed up I am, and with how many acts are coming back or in the process of their comeback…I got a lot to work on. So…here is a quickreviews post! These three acts are just recent returns and I was not completely upset with them.

More under the cut!

Bestie: Love Emotion

Bestiegraphic

Promo Track: Excuse Me

Wasn’t impressed sadly. I like Bestie, but so far I have only really been into their singles (Love Option-Thank You Very Much-Hot Baby combo slays). Album wise, they only have two eps, but for the most part I could do without them. Love Emotions is full of close enough and almost there moments. Nothing that really grabbed me. For example Hush Baby felt like a simmering version of Hot Baby, but lacked the total excitement that the latter had on its chorus. The Oh baby could have been bright and fun and loud, but it was just so…dull. Eh. Single Bed was solid, but I don’t know why I wasn’t in love with it. I think I wanted to float more, like the percussion really irked me for some reason. It is what it is, but I think just going with a guitar (Think Toni Braxton’s Spanish Guitar), would have been perfect in my opinion. I will say that Love Emotion is a step forward from Hot Baby ep. Where Hot Baby relied heavily on the prowess of the singles that were released, and had dull album tracks, Love Emotion felt like a more solid balanced piece. It was closer to what I wanted, but not completely there.
Rating: 3/5


 

 

Hyosung: Fantasia

Hyosunggraphic
Promo track: Into You
I’m going to be honest, and say I was hoping for something more. The name Fantasia just makes me think…big grand, extra ass orchestra inspired pieces. What we got was very…ordinary. Very regular. However, it is not bad at all. Fantasia plays to Hyosung’s strengths as a singer and performer, though she does step out of them on songs like How Can I, where she no longer relies on her sex appeal. The final song First Kiss is the true standout for me. I love the beat, and I love how…I don’t hear it a lot in K pop. I do wish they would have backed off in some of the choices made in production…but…eh. Overall Fantasia is decent. The first half flows really well together, but almost blends a little too perfectly. I wish they would have created those same songs but with different elements or choices. When we hit the sweet little How Can I, we hear a difference, and then the final song gives us a perfect ending in my opinion. I don’t think this is spectacular, but I do think it keeps Hyosung’s good streak going and in the right direction musically.
Rating: 4/5


Jang HyunSeung: MY

Hyoseunggraphic
Promo single: Ma First
Honestly…I have come to accept that Cube is really good for making a banging ass record. This album is pretty much just that. I hit the third record, and new immediately what I wanted to say for this review. I am almost mad I won’t be giving him a full album review, it would have nothing but praise though. My favorite record was Break Up With Him (ft Tokki). That beat is just…wild and fast and Hyunseung is more than capable of keeping up with it. Then after that he hits us with a cute little ballad from 1997, ironically called Dirty Joke.. What’s really interesting about that track though is how…off the piano is. It sounds distorted, and going flat, while he is in a different key than it. I don’t know…it just…it should bother me (and it kind of does), but the song is fascinating. Especially since it doesn’t last long. It’s a moment that stays just that, and moves on to the next track. Me is a throwback, and I am more than in love with it. What makes it is how well done the tracklist was done. It has this perfect energy for me. It starts fast, slows down just slightly, and then picks right back up. The final song is a torch anthem from the late 90’s that ugh…I can’t even begin to describe it. HyunSeung came the fuck through on this album and so far (not even ashamed to say it), he has the best album of 2014 for me.

Rating: 5/5

Sources:

Leave a Reply

