Laboum’s Sugar Sugar is sweet but lacking

I don’t remember Laboum’s debut…it was probably something I did not particularly enjoy. Possibly too sugary with none of the required energy (I think them and Minx were true under dogs around that time though). However it was around the time that Red Velvet had come back that I started to want them back. Once again, I don’t remember what their debut looked like nor do I remember having any sort of opinion about it…but they seemed fun.
So…thankfully they returned..and leave a better impression.

Everything about Sugar Sugar is endearing to me…but I don’t really LOVE it. I think that’s the big problem. I like it, and I find it fun cute and positive, but…I will probably not remember this song by tomorrow. If I were to listen to this some more…probably be one of my favorites by the beginning of summer…but right now, not enough for me.

What Sugar Sugar lacks in impact, it makes up for just being cute and fun. I think what I like about this is that Laboum are giving you cute concept with their flavor. The problem is the flavor really isn’t developed. With groups like GFriend, Lovelyz and Red Velvet (Who teeter the cute line tbh) that have a more fleshed out ideas of their cuteness (even if it is copied and paste), there is little time for Laboum to be trying to get it right.

Still the fun aspect of cuteness is their thing and helps them stand out, it’s only finding the right sound to go with it. They are entertaining (or at least the blonde one is), so why not have a song that makes it fun to be…well fun. Sugar Sugar is almost there. It is a 50’s-60’s inspired pop track, that feels like it could be catchy. The video is fun…and endearing. I just…it’s not enough.

Sugar Sugar isn’t bad, but it definitely lacks that concrete feel that a lot of other rookie groups have brought. That can end up hurting them in the long run…as in they won’t have a long run.

Leave a Reply

